MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING Of LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF HOME INSPECTORS

Friday, March 10, 2023 9:00 AM Office of the LSBHI 5211 Essen Lane Suite 9, Baton Rouge

Board Members in Attendance:

District 1 – Ashley van der Meulen
District 2 – David Holt
District 3 – Paul Brunet
District 3 – Paul Brunet
District 6 – Gordon Atwell
At Large – Jean Picou Jr.

T

Those members being in attendance, Chairman Fred Williams called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Board reviewed the minutes from the previous Quarterly Board Meeting and a motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes as written.

H

Ron Comarota, with the LA Insurance Commission, spoke to the Board about <u>Fortified Roofing</u> and its advantages as well as an opportunity for current Home Inspectors. For more information contact Mr. Comarota at ron.camarota@lsi.la.gov

III

C-22-008 Bishop v. Scerbo LHI#11256- Both parties were present and sworn in. The Complainant alleged that the Respondent violated LAC46XL.315A.5 (shall inspect signs of leakage or abnormal condensation on building components); LAC46XL.117B.2 (shall describe vent piping). The complainant requested a hearing on Sections LAC46XL.311B.2; 325A.4; 329A.1&4 which the SIE found no probable cause for a hearing. The Board stated the complainant did not provide any additional evidence, therefore, denied the request and dismissed the allegations pertaining to LAC46XL.311B.2; 325A.4; 329A.1&4. Both the Complainant and Respondent provided testimony. After much discussion, the Board determined that the Respondent did not report on the roof in his report. The Respondent should have reported whether or not any deficiencies were found with the roof. By a vote of 6 to 0, the Respondent was found guilty of violating LAC46XL.315A.5. The Board determined that the Respondent did not properly describe vent piping in the bathrooms. By a vote of <u>5</u> to <u>1</u> (Gordon Atwell), the Respondent was found guilty of violating LAC46XL.317B.2. The Respondent was ordered to pay a fine of \$100.00 for violating LAC46XL.315A.; \$500.00 for violating LAC46XL.B.2 plus administrative costs (190.44). In addition to the monetary fine, the board ordered that Mr. Scerbo attend the next available Standards of Practice and Report Writing seminar without receiving CE credit. Total Fine \$790.44.

C-22-010 James v. Watts LHI#10965- Both parties were present and sworn in. This complaint was being heard after a request for a hearing from the Complainant in response to the SIE report. the Board motioned to dismiss the hearing as recommended by the Special Investigative Entity

due to no new evidence provided with the request for a hearing by the Complainant. The motion to dismiss was granted and the above-captioned case was hereby dismissed by a 5-1(Mike Roberts) vote.

C-23-001 Pitts v. Root LHI#11214- SIE found no probable cause, and the complaint was dismissed.

IV

Chairman, Fred Williams discussed developing a process for reviewing Continuing Education providers. After discussion, the Board will review a detailed plan on how to accomplish audits/reviews of approved CE providers at the next Board meeting.

\mathbf{V}

Attorney Albert Nicaud updated the Board on the proposed law change for the 2023 Legislative session. Representative Polly Thomas will sponsor our bill during the 2023 session. For more detailed information see the link. HB 74

VI

Discussion of ethics law changes specific to section 1 R.S. 42:1120- this would allow for board members to continue providing education to the public while serving on the Board. The board will look into drafting official language for the 2024 legislative session.

The meeting adjourned at 11:50 am

Other attendees: Albert Nicaud, Board Attorney; Morgan Spinosa, COO; Barry Landry; Solomon Falgout III; Richard Campbell; Brent Roberts; Ron Camarota; Joe Cook; Ricky Thibodeaux; James Jones; Adam Watts; Clifton Gill; Will Cullen; Brandy Allain; Ross Bravata; Jason Scerbo; T.J. Johnston; Bradly Aldridge; Charlie Bishop; Clayton Costanza; Ned Dufrene; Sean Root; Roland LeBlanc; Fritz Gurtler; Mike Jordan; Randy Hardouin; Christopher Braud; David Taylor; Edward Holt; Spencer Maxcy; Joe Heck; Michael Jackson

Minutes recorded by: C.O.O. Spinosa